Muslims respect and revere the Prophet Jesus and Imam Mahdi are awaiting his Second Coming.

They consider him to be one of the greatest Messengers of Allah to mankind along side with Noah, Abraham, Moses, and Muhammad (peace be upon all of them).

The Qur’an confirms his miraculous birth by his mother - Virgin Mary.  His mother is also referred to as one of the purest women in all creation and is given the appellation of one of the four women of Paradise.

The Qur’an describes this annunciation as follows:

“Behold, the Angel said (to Mary), ‘Allah has chosen you, and purified you and chosen you above the women of all nations. O’ Mary, Allah gives you the good news of a Word from Him, whose name shall be the Messiah, Jesus son of Mary, honoured in this world and in the Hereafter, and one of those brought near to Allah.  He shall speak to people from the cradle and in maturity, and shall be of the righteous.’  She (Mary) said, ‘O’ my Lord, how shall I have a son when no man has touched me?’  He said, ‘Even so, Allah creates what He wills. When He decrees a thing, He says to it, ‘Be!’ and it is.’” (al-Qur’an, Chapter 3, Verses 42-47)

Jesus was born miraculously through the same power that brought Adam into being with neither a father nor a mother:

“Truly the likeness of Jesus with Allah is as the likeness of Adam.  He created him of dust and then said to him, ‘Be!’ And he was.” (al-Qur’an, Chapter 3, Verse 59)

 
During his Prophetic mission, Jesus performed many miracles by the power of God.  The Qur’an tells us that he said:

“I have come to you with a sign from your Lord - I make for you out of clay, as it were, the figure of a bird, and breathe into it and it becomes a bird by God’s permission.  And I heal the blind and the lepers, and I raise the dead by God's permission.” (al-Qur’an, Chapter 3, Verse 49)

Neither Muhammad nor Jesus came to change the basic doctrine of the belief in one God brought by the earlier Prophets, rather, they came to confirm and renew it.  In the Qur’an, Jesus is reported as saying that he came:

“…to attest the law which was before me.  And to make lawful to you part of what was forbidden to you; I have come to you with a sign from your Lord, so fear Allah and obey me.” (al-Qur’an, Chapter 3, Verse 50)

Some sayings from Prophet Jesus as recorded in the Islamic books:

1. “My two hands are my servant, and my feet is my horse. The earth is my bed, a stone is my pillow.  My winter garment is where the sun rises up, my lantern at night is the moon, my meal is hunger, my covering is fear of Allah.  My garment is of wool, my fruits and vegetables are what grows for the wild animals and beasts out of the earth. I pass the night into the morning while I have nothing; and at the same time, there is no one more rich that I.”

2. Jesus was asked, “How do you walk on water?”  He replied, “With faith and certainty.”  They said, “We have believed the same way you have believed and reached to the certainty as you have.”  He said, “Walk on water.”  But when they walked on the water, the started to drown.  Jesus said, “What happened to you?” They replied, “We feared the waves.”  Jesus said, “Fear the Creator of the waves.”  Then he rescued them. He then put his hands on the earth, took a handful of soil and when he opened his fist, they saw that he had gold in one hand and pebbles in the other. Jesus asked them, “Which one is sweeter to you?”  They said, “Gold.” Jesus replied, “But to me, they are both equal.”

3. One day Jesus and his Disciples were passing by the carcass of a dog when one of the companions said, “What a bad smell!” Jesus said, “Why didn't you say how white are its teeth!”

4. Jesus was one asked, “Who taught you ethics?” He replied, “No one.  I saw the ugliness of ignorance and stayed away from it.”

5. One day, Jesus took a stone as a pillow to enjoy the pleasure of sleep.  At that moment, Satan passed by him and said, “O' Jesus! Was it not you that said you did not like any worldly stuff, but this stone you are using is a worldly article!?”  Jesus rose up, took the stone and threw it at Satan saying, “Let this stone and the world be yours.”



Source: http://www.al-haqq.com/